Skip to content

How To Be Happy: A Guest Post I Wrote for Joe Boyd

My friend Joe Boyd directed and starred in a movie that releases this Fall. I’m really looking forward to seeing A Strange Brand of Happy. In fact, I’m hoping to help get it here to NYC (perhaps more on that later).

In the meantime, he’s asked a bunch of people to write guest posts on his blog about happiness: what it is, how to get it, whether it’s worth focusing on, etc. Here’s some of what I wrote (click the link for the rest):

Being happy is a mirage. Feeling happy, on the other hand– we can drink that.

I think that’s what we all really mean when we say things like “I want to be happy” or “I just want him to be happy.” We mean, “I want to feel happy” and “I want him to feel happy.” Otherwise, what does it even mean to be happy? Maybe you can imagine being happy without feeling happy, but I think that’s nonsense.

Whatever else it takes to feel happy, one thing is certainly required: to feel happy, one must feel.

And now we’re getting to the big old nasty stink of it all…

(read the rest here): How To Be Happy

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 649 other followers

